Who Am I

I am a shy but confident singing Snow White, who is soft and stylish. At least, that’s what my classmates think of me.

Who am I is a hard question that I always hate answering. I internally laugh when people ask me this. It’s a question I had worn (I am wearing) on my lips when it’s 2 in the morning and I am trying to sleep. It’s the question I ask every time I find myself with the streetlights that walk me home.

I am the type of girl who avoids buying violet things just because she likes the color, but realizes at the end of the day that she still ended up with the violet ones. I am the person, who was tempted to quote V for Vendetta to initially answer this question

Who? Who is but the form following the function of what and what I am is a man in a mask.

but realized that it’s 10 in the morning and it is too early to explain such response.

I am a reader who likes the smell of newly opened books, but downloads the soft version anyway because it is cheaper and easier. I am currently in the in-between-phase, when one really wants to finish a book but is not mentally and emotionally ready for the ending. I have yet to finish The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly.

I am someone who can say she likes Taylor Swift and Andy Mckee in the same sentence, someone who enjoys watching In the Mood for Love and Confessions of a Shopaholic. I am the girl who has animes, American TV series, and Korean novelas in her hard drive. Most of my friends can’t fathom how I can appreciate such diversity. I always have to remind them that I am an eclectic.

I am the person who likes the feel of raindrops on her skin, but hates getting her feet wet.  And I am that girl who does not like breakfast, but loves breakfast food. I can’t eat when it is too early in the morning. Not for lack of trying though. I am someone who needs to write on a paper to help her process her thoughts. I have a brown journal that contains my rants, aspirations, and different fleeting moments. To quote Miss Gabriela Lee, “Writing is lying to tell the truth or at least, to approach it.”

I am the sum of all the moments in my life, the girl who danced in her batch’s Phantom of the Opera and A Midsummer Night’s Dream play, the grade school student who was once a part of their school choir, the current ambassador of our university to the Philippine Institute of Industrial Engineers, the person that was nominated to be the Best Actress in the Engineering Film Festival, and the college student who is currently writing the script for their new short film. To answer the question, I am all the choices I commit to, may it be a new book or a new experience.

Leave a comment